#PITCHFORK

https://pitchfork.com is one of my favorite blogs that talks about literally all things music.

(This is a screenshot I took myself)

I love how the site includes a “Watch Now” section of the website where there are new and old videos that are somewhat like interviews with artist of all backgrounds and genres. One of my favorite videos would be where FINNEAS explains the process in which he builds a song for the very talented, Billie Eillish. FINNEAS is Billies brother if you didn’t know, and he has been by her side helping her since the beginning of her career. I love how in these videos on Pitchfork the artist will use musical terminology and Pitchfork gives you that actual meaning of whatever the term may be. This way you gain a lot of knowledge just hearing how these talented people create their art. In the video (https://thescene.com/watch/pitchfork/finneas-critical-breakthroughs), FINNEAS really goes into detail about all the weird but cool elements of each song. For example, I didn’t know that there were only 3 instruments in one of my favorite songs by Billie, “When the Party’s Over.” He explained that because there are only 3 instruments in the song, it was challenging to make it not boring.

My entire website is basically a review so my favorite thing about Pitchfork is their album reviews *inserts crying emoji*. Every Sunday Pitchfork releases an in-depth review on an album from the past. The top 4 reviews range from country, rock, and R&B, and punk. This just goes to show that this blog IS for everyone. My favorite album review has to be Summer Walkers album, “Life on Earth” (https://pitchfork.com/reviews/albums/summer-walker-life-on-earth-ep/ . Pitchfork starts the review off with a background on Summer Walker herself and how it ties into her music. One of the many reasons why I enjoy these reviews so much is because they’re so raw and real and honest. If you take out the time to go check it out, you will notice how the writer incorporates his/her opinion in the most captivating way.

Published by mikailaohare

A girl always in the mood to listen to music.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started